Evanescent Thoughts

Evanescent Thoughts

Getting placed in Cisco :)

with 17 comments


Hurray, I am finally placed in Cisco. Considering the fact that I have gone for a great number of interviews seeking a job with a cv that says “This guy is going for MS”,  I  think I deserve a space to explain my interview experiences. If I am right, the following are the companies for which I had gone till the final rounds.. adobe,Goldman Sachs, Netapp, Amazon, Direct i, Intel, DRDO, Vmware and finally Cisco.  Clearing written was never a problem, but giving a comfortable answer about Higher studies in the final HR round always bumped me and fortunately, Cisco was the only one that didnt ask the “Are you going to Higher Studies ?” question. Intel was the worst asking me to do higher studies over  job  😛 .

The written was as usual easy. But had a lot of ECE stuff which I gave it away to my blind senses. As usual, I got called for interview and  it was scheduled initially at 11.30 pm  but actually started at around 00.30 am 😛 . I had to search for my shoe, socks, tie and stuff and get things ready and having gone for about 8 interviews already, I was sort of well versed in the pre-interview preps :P. I did about 30 mins of networks preps from mala notes( yeah the dusted one lying somewhere in my cupboard finally came to use :P) and slept for about 30 mins .  I was fortunate to have the cool headed guy for the interview. The other panel guy was a bit stern (hope he doesnt read this 😛 ). And the first surprise I got was that, my interviewer was in shorts :P.

I was comfortable with his C questions. One of them involved some pointer typecasting and memory references and boiled down to endianess of the computer. Next C question was on writing a function that can add any two input values. I had to take care of all possible overflows, and types(sort of managed though easy one). Next I had question based on sizeof(int) and sizeof(int*). Impressed him telling a detailed explanation involving computer architecture.

By the time tech part started, I was sure, the interviewer was impressed. He was at times jumping to explain his views on the questions. Sort of gave me a hint to put some scene 😛 . Next he asked me questions on AVL trees. Did that comfortably and then he asked me if I can do better. I said unless I have the whole data at the point of tree construction, I cant. He went on to explain a scenario in RAM where data was already available and how AVL trees were used in RAMs. Was sort of Informative.

By now, some 30 mins passed and then he went on to networks. He asked me my favorite website and then went on to say “What I am gonna ask, you can answer in just 3 words or write a book on it. What happens when you type http://www.google.com”. Bingo, I just had the right question asked :P. Went on to explain him about DNS, different layer’s operations, TCP connection establishment, ports, packets, HTTP requests, responses, blah blah blah. He was impressed and was sort of keen on letting me know of his views.

After the previous question, he was sort of convinced and kept asking questions just to time pass. He typed ARPcommands in his comp and asked me about arptables and stuff. Again a Bingo, I went on to tell about ARP spoofing and stuff which I tried to do in second year, thanks to VGK , sid and kasthu :).

Now was the weird part of the interview where the questions started to turn sort of dumb and name for sake. He kept on clicking arbit things in his computer and asked me to explain stuffs like CPU graphs in task monitor. I was wondering where he was taking me to but then he concluded nicely asking me on how dual cores improve performance. I gave a close answer and he went  on to tell about sharing of caches to improve performance. I was sort of impressed. He then asked few questions on deadlocks, semaphores and OS stuff for which he concluded that I knew even before I finished my answers.

After this, it was only HR. I was expecting a question on higher studies and was preparing a good answer, but I was luckily asked none. He asked me if I was interested in Cisco and would be willing to shift to Bangalore (who wouldn’t 😛 ).

In all, it was a OK interview. Not  one of my great ones. The best I have been to is Amazon. I just totally loved their questions except for the fact that I screwed up in my last round out of exhaustion. But then if not for this Amazon screw-up, I wouldn’t be listening to my green i-pod shuffle ;). Thanks to all those from whom I borrowed  shoes, ties, socks :P, advices 😉 , and finally the bumps. Special thanks to Archit who kept track of my placement revenues :P. According to him , I have comfortably got back my TP registration fee of 2000 in form of goodies and stuff :P.  To all my friends who patiently kept waiting for me to get placed : ) Woah !! What a  big process to get placed 😛

PS : I totally loved the early morning bash shanky and gang gave me with items ranging from shampoo, perfumes, to shoe-polish and fevicol :). Pics in fb here . A preview at end 😛 13112009972

PS 1: For all those wondering about the package, the base salary is 5.9 lpa and with stocks and other perks, comes to arnd 7.9 lpa(excluding all sort of insurances and relocation benefits).

PS 2: For all those wondering what cisco is, It is THE networks company. More here and here 🙂

Written by Sathya Narayanan

November 14, 2009 at 11:29 pm

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations !!

    Aniruddha

    November 15, 2009 at 12:48 am

    • thanks 🙂

      Sathya Narayanan

      November 15, 2009 at 12:58 am

  2. Congratulations dude

    Kannan

    November 15, 2009 at 7:08 am

  3. Finally, awesome! I digg the pic in the end, hahahahaha.

    AJ

    November 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm

  4. congrats da 🙂 cudnt attend ur shampoo ceremony though 😦 btw, i think you are gonna get marriage proposals by exposing those pics on fb and blog 😀

    kra

    November 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    • ha ah 😀

      Sathya Narayanan

      November 22, 2009 at 12:17 am

  5. Lol…seems lyk u n d interviewer impressed each other a lot (I mean lotzzz) 😛 😛 😛
    Congratulations buddy !!!!
    Ur treat’s d pending’s…:D
    N most of all Betta compensate TP :P….
    Cheers…more bumps next yr once V r back to col 😉

    Archit

    November 26, 2009 at 4:26 pm

  6. we should have a recording of all your previous interviews….to know what truly happened 😛
    i have a gut feeling you did major comedy 😉

    NuTtY

    November 28, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    • define comedy 😛

      Sathya Narayanan

      November 28, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  7. hey.. stumbled upon your page after searching through google.. firstly congrats on getting in.. can u elaborate more on your job profile ? i have an interview with cisco tomorrow and the job profile doesnt quite make sense to me. its for the post of associate customer service executive. is this the same post you were offered ?

    abhi

    November 30, 2009 at 11:53 am

    • hey .. thanks .. and my profile is a software engineer or something . Its on the tech side .

      Sathya Narayanan

      November 30, 2009 at 12:49 pm

  8. Congo!!!!!!!!! Nice writeup 🙂 🙂

    Madhav

    December 7, 2009 at 11:17 am

  9. congs …dude…
    by the way which college ???

    Aamir

    December 31, 2009 at 11:06 am

    • nit trichy

      Sathya Narayanan

      January 3, 2010 at 8:51 am

  10. cool
    Thumbs Up!

    Samir

    January 27, 2010 at 4:27 pm

  11. Congratulations dude

    Katie Tam

    May 3, 2010 at 1:01 pm

  12. i want the details how to be get placed in cisco. its my dream. i am doing my 3rd year B.B(ECE). PLEASE GUIDE ME. MY CONTACT NO: 9629090705

    ananth narayanan

    April 9, 2011 at 9:48 pm


Leave a Reply

