Evanescent Thoughts

Evanescent Thoughts

My wierd SRM Dream :(

with 14 comments


I shud say i am really bad at remembering my dreams.Each morning i get up i would have a vague remembrance of what i dreamt last night.But the dream i had last night is the height of craziness .I gotta write abt it. And so i ran straight to my laptop as soon as i got up to write down my dream .
Before i tell u wht really happened in my dream , there is a flash-back i need to mention here. Infact a fact about me and topcoder. I would be the guy who had missed the most of the topcoder matches in the world and i would have really wierd reasons to miss each time . Yesterday was once such occasion whn i was in chennai and had planned to come back home before evening on time for my SRM 428. But then the BSNL Broad Band at my area was down and there was no net connection for us for the whole day .My dad called me up and told me this thing and here u see i had another wierd reason to miss the TC match.So i continued to go for my purchase of hard disk(yeah i got an another new hard disk).And came back home around 8 in the night .

Yeah now coming back to the dream .Before i narrate i dont intend to use this story for the next Mr Bean movie . I seriously mean tht :P. So I was sleeping (ofcourse :P) and then suddenly i am in my school ground , with my laptop and a magical green colour ethernet wire hanging from sky and then i was in the TC applet . I was like yippeee i made it to the SRM 428. And there were couple of friends around me . Now here are the questions tht i got .

The 250 problem was ” Given an integer , print the integer three times .”
Sorry i cudnt help it .But seriously my dreams are out of my control , and i dont have any intention of having a ques like tht anywhere. And the funny part is i submitted the question and ended up with 383 points. God knows why. Well if u think thts it ..wait a sec .The 500 one is the big funny one.

You are not gonna beleive this but suddenly i got transported to a new room with a very very long table on it .. And then on the table was some wierd sort of setup .Some thing like being done for a science exhibition. And people were sitting all around at different parts of the table. Now suddenly the laptop comes into my hand and i see the 500 pt question . “Explain the setup before You “.
Are u alive ??? Yeah i got a theory question in my Topcoder SRM in my dream . Can u imagine how terrible it is ? And the more funnier part of this is actually wht the setup is, as i had figured out in my dream .
So i went on to understand the setup and after minutes of serious and tense observation , I finally figured it out tht it was the setup for A network protocol for Data Link Layer tht i had learnt for my fifth sem . It was the one with positive Acknowledgment . Protocol P3 to be more precise. And so i sadly sat down to write my answer and suddenly the laptop was gone and i had a 2 sheet paper in my hand. I began to scribble in the worst of my hand writing and was nearing the completion whn i suddenly turned the sheet and to my surprise i find somebody else has already written some shit in those last few lines. So i began for a search for my eraser and finally found it and erased the part and finished writing. The last line i had written was
” To improve the protocol efficiency acknowledgements can be piggy packed into data frames” .
I finally i had something to submit and looked to my laptop.. (God knws how i am gonna submit a paper to computer. May be i was supposed to scan it and submit). But wait a sec. I suddenly find my lan wire missing . In the process of searching for my rubber , i lost my LAN wire tht was hanging from the sky and i had no way of submitting the 500 pt theory .And then suddenly power went off and i got up . 😦

So there it is my wierd dream . But from now on , i have made up my mind not to miss any more TC matches whatsoever be the wierd reason .I have no explanation as to why the dream was so so crazy , but i just hope it doesnt come true .

PS : Thank god the dream stopped before i looked into the 1000 ptr. Any crazy ideas welcome 😛

Written by Sathya Narayanan

December 3, 2008 at 10:56 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Acho paaavam !

    Suren

    December 3, 2008 at 11:10 am

  2. 1. You are mad!.
    2. Its weird, not wierd.
    3. You have read too much of Computer Networks.

    NuTtY

    December 3, 2008 at 11:17 am

  3. oh and..

    ROFL

    NuTtY

    December 3, 2008 at 11:18 am

  4. @suren : unnakku indha madhiri kanavu vandha theriyum 😦
    @ nutty: i knw its weird to say weird as wierd . But i cant help it .. after all tht i have gone through for the last night .Yeah bt i knw its funny.. thank god i didnt dream about much worser protocols 😛

    Sathya Narayanan

    December 3, 2008 at 11:24 am

  5. I guess you are affected coz of sem exams. 😛

    sp2hari

    December 3, 2008 at 11:31 am

  6. @sp2hari : yeah may be.. 😛 bt then i shud have gt something related to prison break in my dreams becos of https://sathyaphoenix.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/memorable-sem-exams/

    Sathya Narayanan

    December 3, 2008 at 11:39 am

  7. What happened to 1000 pointer?

    sp2hari

    December 3, 2008 at 11:41 am

  8. @sp2hari : thts good question .. Thank god i didnt dream of tht 😛 well i might welcome ur weird ideas though as comments

    Sathya Narayanan

    December 3, 2008 at 11:46 am

  9. Well well 🙂 I remember having such a dream, but in that I did all three problems. 🙂 Not so weird like yours :). Surely theory question in topcoder, too much da :P. Will happen if the problem setter is jaya nirmala 😛

    sp2hari

    December 3, 2008 at 11:50 am

  10. @sp2hari : by the way .. today jaya nirmala got married. i am not joking seriuosly today is her marraige 😛

    Sathya Narayanan

    December 3, 2008 at 12:04 pm

  11. Yeah I know 🙂 She sent the invitation to whole class na. 😀

    sp2hari

    December 3, 2008 at 12:48 pm

  12. I always thought that all the layers we learnt were not physical layers but just abstractions for the functions..

    But yeah i am forgetting that i am talking to a high 9 ptr.. 😛

    Akhil Ravidas

    December 3, 2008 at 1:11 pm

  13. @akhil : nw tht many ppl are interested in the setup of the protocol , i might very well write a post on the setup in my dream.. u see some guy had actually discovered the benzene structure in his dream 😛

    Sathya Narayanan

    December 3, 2008 at 1:18 pm

  14. […] dreams. Never could I recollect what I had dreamt about  in the last night. A few exceptions are this and the one that woke me up this morning. They would rather come under the category of […]


Leave a Reply

