Evanescent Thoughts

Evanescent Thoughts

Lehman Brothers Interview

with 7 comments


This yr Lehman Brothers was here in NIT -Trichy not for placement bt for internships.. And i had registered for the interns and sent my cv and was having the thought tht i might not even go for it.And finally whn the probable date was announced to be 12 sep, which happened to ruin my 3 day trip to home tht i had in mind , i made up my mind tht i am gonna bid bye bye for the intern… But there was this statuatory warning tht i didnot heed saying tht ” there is no backing out once u r registered”. so i postponed my trip and thought i wud attend the ppt and leave as i wasnt in the top 3 from my dept . Unfortunately fate struck me in the form of getting shortlisted for the Interview process( yeah there was no written, it was CV shortlisting) and there was no GD. So, there i was waiting in the TP office with an unshaved face, the usual slippers tht i wear, and a decent enough dress.. Then came the other guys all suited up for the occasion. Me and rk ,who was sitting next to me , had a nice time making fun of each and every one.. especially kidambi who seemed to have taken a print out of his intro and the DO s and DONT s of interview.. After a gruelling wait of 2 hrs, i was called upon in… and below is the conv… (“blah blah blah” indicates i was giving a piece of my mind to him)

Notations : Me- myself ๐Ÿ˜› and Int- Interviewer(s)

Me : May i come in ..

I: Yeah sure sure ( as if he is gonna hug me the next moment). So u r sathya naran.. no Sathya Narayanan .

Me: yes sir u gt it right..

He galnces at my cv and finally nods his head and says

I: Looking at ur CV i think u have a good chance for Higher Studies …

Me : Yes sir , i do have higher studies in my mind.

I: Wht are ur dream univs …

Me: Blah Blah Blah

I:So it looks like ur areas of interest doesnt match the profile we are here for.

Ironical tht they shortlist based on CV and say the above statementย  after looking at the CV.

Me: Yes sir, i would like to knw if i can anyway relate it to my area of interest and work on it..

I: No actually we dont have any programming or algorithmic work.

Me: ( Thinking wht am i supposed to say for this) Sorry sir in tht case i guess i cant be of much help..

After this point i think it was clear to both of us tht i am OUT. so we had a friendly chat.One of the guys was a linux user( gentoo user) so was chatting with him on linux and then they came up with this wierd smile saying

I: Ok so see you..

Me: Thank you…

So i was out of my first interview in my coll life without even being asked a single tech question.. In the process i was hinting him to ask me some ques on algos… bt he was hell determined tht he is not gonna test me on any of those…

Well even worse was one of my chem guys , for whom the only tech ques asked was ” how do u determine the amnt of oxygen in this aquafina bottle(half empty bottle) lying on the table ” . Yeah and he wanted to knw the quantity of diff forms of oxygen present in the bottle .Now can some one tell me why an investment bank is in anyway bothered abt the oxygen content in aquafina bottle.So the final conlcusion .. never sit for something tht is not in ur area of interest even if they offer u lots of money ๐Ÿ˜›

Written by Sathya Narayanan

September 13, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Posted in computers, general, Ha Ha Ha

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude, check the label of the Aquafina cover ! Thats wat they wanted you to answer.. not necessarily a technical hi fundoo answer..but i guess this answer is simply superb as well..

    Bharathwaj

    September 13, 2008 at 10:02 pm

  2. @bharat hey it was a half filled bottle and tht guy was asking dissolved oxygen+ the oxygen present in the bottle which is half empty… ๐Ÿ˜›

    Sathya Narayanan

    September 14, 2008 at 2:19 am

  3. Interesting experience ๐Ÿ˜€
    Did you know that Lehman is going down, they are going to break it. So, be happy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Siddhartha Sankaran

    September 14, 2008 at 9:14 am

  4. Half-filled .. assume equitable distribution

    Bharathwaj

    September 14, 2008 at 9:43 am

  5. my friend first thought tht he was asking the different isotopes of oxygen and started explaining some hifi stuff…

    Sathya Narayanan

    September 14, 2008 at 9:57 am

  6. @sidhartha i was never interested in tht company…

    Sathya Narayanan

    September 14, 2008 at 4:49 pm

  7. […] ll keep it short and simple. It was the day i went thropugh this torment of lehman brothers interview ,tht i settled to watch Batman Begins( for the third time).I was totally into the movie and was […]


Leave a Reply

